Veeam for Microsoft 365 Item has been changed during the backup warning

Share This Post

The warning “Item has been changed during the backup” occurs when a file is in use during a Veeam Backup for Microsoft 365 backup, Veeam will skip the file and try to backup it up during the next run. Here are a few tips to help get your file backing up.

  • We automatically enable retries for out VM365 jobs. Having backup retries enabled may help resolve this issue if an item was changed during the backup and closed. The next retry will grab the item if it is closed.

  • If the item continues to fail after retries, we recommend reaching out to the end user accessing the file, and request the file be closed before the next backup interval.

  • If the backup file is always in use, another option would be to relocate the file to a machine or VM that Veeam is backing up through an agent or Veeam Backup and Replication.


These are common steps we follow to help get items backing up after the warning has occurred. If your issues continue to occur, or would like assistance for any other issues, please reach out for assistance at Support@Managecast.com.

More To Explore

Celebrating World Backup Day 2024

Every year, businesses lose billions of dollars to data breaches, system failures, and unforeseen disasters. In an era where data drives decisions, protects client relationships,

Read More »